MusicNL Awards Winners Announced

Repartee, Duane Andrews and Cabbages & Kings were the big winners at the 2016 installation of the MusicNL Awards. The event, held this past Sunday at the Garrick Theatre in Bonavista, closed off MusicNL Week 2016 which ran from October 12-16.

REPARTEE took home a total of four awards including Album of the Year, Group of the Year and Pop/Rock Recording of the Year. DUANE ANDREWS earned the Jazz/Blues Recording of the Year and Male Artist of the Year awards, while CABBAGES & KINGS nabbed Alternative Recording of the Year, tying with REPARTEE for Music Video of the Year.

The evening was hosted by Karen Ennis (of the Ennis Sisters) and Mike McDonald and featured performances from Repartee, Duane Andrews, Cabbages & Kings, Long Distance Runners, Laura Madonna Murray, Rozalind MacPhail, It Could Be Franky (Danielle Hamel), Mick Davis, Louis McDonald and veteran guitarist Sandy Morris, who was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Minister of Business, Tourism, Culture and Rural Development Christopher Mitchelmore addressed the crowd of 200+ and underlined the importance of music for the province’s economy and cultural identity. Town of Bonavista Mayor Betty Fitzgerald thanked MusicNL for bringing the event to Bonavista before handing the Group of the Year award to Repartee.

A full list of winners can be found below:

Country Recording of the Year – Peter Willie Youngtree
MOLSON/COORS Pop/Rock Recording of the Year – Repartee
Urban/Electronic Artist of the Year – It Could Be Franky
CLASSIC HITS COAST 101.1 FM Jazz/Blues Recording of the Year – Duane Andrews
Instrumental Recording of the Year – Ewan Dobson
THE TELEGRAM Folk/Roots Recording of the Year – Rum Ragged
Denis Parker Industry Builder award – Eleanor Dawson
The NICKEL Music Video of the Year – Repartee and Cabbages and Kings
TOWN OF BONAVISTA Group of the Year – Repartee
DC DESIGN HOUSE Male Artist of the Year – Duane Andrews
Ron Hynes SOCAN Songwriter of the Year – Chris Kirby
Entertainer of the Year – Everglow
ELEPHANT SHOP BOUTIQUE Female Artist of the Year – Rozalind MacPhail
FACTOR Album of the Year – Repartee
Alternative Recording of the Year – Cabbages and Kings
BELL ALIANT Rising Star of the Year – Waterfront Fire
Lifetime Achievement Award – Sandy Morris
Industry Professional of the Year – Dean Stairs
Media Person of the Year – Greg Smith
LONG & MCQUADE Music Educator of the Year – Adam Baxter
Volunteer of the Year – Glenn Pardy
Side Musician of the Year – Andrew McCarthy
Graphic Designer of the Year – Tara Thompson
Outstanding Company of the Year – Citadel House
Please direct any media inquiries to Rebekah Robbins at or Kyle Mooney at


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *